Skip to main content

The Melting Pot Newsletter | #48

HOW CLIFTONSTRENGTHS WILL HELP YOUR BUSINESS GROW

Everyone is different. Fact. Our thoughts, motivations and talents are entirely unique. It’s one of the many fascinating aspects of human psychology. And yet, when it comes to relationships, we expect everyone to react in the same way as we do.  This can lead to all kinds of tension and misunderstanding at work. 


If you want to build high-performing teams to propel your company forward, you’re going to need a certain set of tools.  One of my big recommendations is Gallup’s CliftonStrengths®.

The Melting Pot With Dominic Monkhouse - Featured Image

Cutting through the marketing bullsh*t 

his week’s guest is Dutch-born Sander Arts. His list of titles is as long as your arm—Consultant, Strategic Advisor, Board Member, Author, Fractional CMO, Business Development, Strategic Alliances, Lecturer. 

Sander is a global award-winning CMO, strategic advisor, entrepreneur, and lecturer who has extensive experience increasing revenue and meaningfully reaching technical audiences that have been historically considered not to care about marketing—mainly hardware and software engineers. 
 

As the founder of his own strategic marketing consultancy, Orange Tulip, LLC, in Silicon Valley, Sander is renowned for his Dutch directness and his “no-bullsh*t” approach, as well as his ability to build global high-performing teams and generate results that matter. This dynamic, creative senior executive is clearly the ideal person to write a book called Cut the Bullsh*t Marketing


Knowledge@Wharton is the online business analysis journal of the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. The site, which is free, captures relevant knowledge generated at Wharton and beyond by offering articles and videos based on research, conferences, speakers, books and interviews with faculty and other experts on global business topics.

Leaders are learners. The best leaders never stop working to make themselves better. The Learning Leader Show Is series of conversations with the world’s most thoughtful leaders. Entrepreneurs, CEO’s, World-Class Athletes, Coaches, Best-Selling Authors, and much more.


CAN READING MAKE YOU HAPPIER?

Several years ago, I was given as a gift a remote session with a bibliotherapist at the London headquarters of the School of Life, which offers innovative courses to help people deal with the daily emotional challenges of existence. I have to admit that at first I didn’t really like the idea of being given a reading “prescription.” I’ve generally preferred to mimic Virginia Woolf’s passionate commitment to serendipity in my personal reading discoveries, delighting not only in the books themselves but in the randomly meaningful nature of how I came upon them (on the bus after a breakup, in a backpackers’ hostel in Damascus, or in the dark library stacks at graduate school, while browsing instead of studying). 

YOU ARE PROBABLY OVERCONFIDENT (IF YOU SKIP THIS, DOUBLY SO)

When I lived in the mountains of Utah, I used to ski in the backcountry often. This is not resort skiing, and there is no patrol checking for avalanche risk, so assessing that risk becomes your own responsibility. It is an imprecise science, and there is always a chance you’ll get it wrong.

LEADING CHANGE IN A COMPANY THAT’S HISTORICALLY BAD AT IT

Organizational change was once a seasonal experience. But today, managing continual disruption is a skill required of most leaders. Change management is the new management, which makes doing it effectively that much more difficult.

PROFIT FIRST: TRANSFORM YOUR BUSINESS FROM A CASH-EATING MONSTER TO A MONEY-MAKING MACHINE

Author of cult classics ‘The Pumpkin Plan’ and ‘The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur’ offers a simple, counterintuitive cash management solution that will help small businesses break out of the doom spiral and achieve instant profitability. 


THE BIG LEAP: CONQUER YOUR HIDDEN FEAR AND TAKE LIFE TO THE NEXT LEVEL

With over 100,000 copies sold, New York Times bestselling author Gay Hendricks demonstrates how to go beyond your internal limits, release outdated fears and learn a whole new set of powerful skills and habits to liberate your authentic greatness. Fans of Wayne Dyer, Eckhart Tolle, Marianne Williamson, and Gabrielle Bernstein will discover the way to break down the walls to a better life.

Want to scale up? Join my newsletter to receive a copy of my book, ‘F**K Plan B: How to scale your technology business faster and achieve Plan A’.